Rossi M92 - .45 Colt w/ 24" Octagonal Barrel..........Thoughts?

ZeeZee Senior MemberPosts: 21,103 Senior Member
Saw a .45-70 Marlin Cowboy the other day that got my brain turning. Decided I liked the idea but don't really want to tool up for another cartridge. Then, I got to thinking. I load for the .45 Colt!!!

Enter the Rossi M92 in .45 Colt with Octoganol Barrel.

5EF0A564-BED5-4B76-9BE8-1C50A62B53FB_zpseh4wgr9g.jpg

I've zero experience with Rossi rifles. I've zero experience with the .45 Colt out of a rifle length barrel. So, I'm going to lean heavily on the cumulative experience gathered here.

Is the gun worth it?
Is the cartridge worth it out of a 24" barrel?

Would most likely use it for hunting and as a companion to my Super Blackhawk Bisley in .45 Colt. Likely add a tang sight and front globe.

Would linely use 250gr Hornady XTP handloads out of this rifle and push them fast.

Thoughts?
"To Hell with efficiency, it's performance we want!" - Elmer Keith

Replies

• DoctorWhoDoctorWho Senior Member Posts: 9,496 Senior Member
    How much ? I love the Rossi rifles, I have shot them much, then people offered me stupid money and I sold them..... I like them very much..... Buy if you can get a good bargain...
    "There is some evil in all of us, Doctor, even you, the Valeyard is an amalgamation of the darker sides of your nature, somewhere between your twelfth and final incarnation, and I may say, you do not improve with age. Founding member of the G&A forum since 1996
  • shushshush Senior Member Posts: 6,259 Senior Member
    Didn't the Rossi M92 in .45 long colt become the 454 Cassull. :p :devil:

Zee wrote: »
    .....Is the cartridge worth it out of a 24" barrel?...Thoughts?

Is not that barrel a might too long for you.

"I'm not sayin', I'm just sayin."

cjp wrote: »..... Oh dear God, I've admitted to liking something Limey.I'll never hear the end of this.

Jayhawker wrote: »...But seriously Shush....