Home Main Category Clubhouse

My retirement is over

FreezerFreezer Senior MemberPosts: 1,756 Senior Member
When I moved from Ca. to Pa. I thought I had retired. My wife is a teacher with a master's degree and I thought she'd be working. Well to transfer her credentials it will cost us $750 to $1000. She can't take the last test until mid November. I can live on what I bring home but not put anything away or remodel this house. So much for retirement. I'm a stationary engineer and will start a new job today.

I owe, I owe so off to work I go!
I like Elmer Keith; I married his daughter :wink:

Replies

• DanChamberlainDanChamberlain Senior Member Posts: 3,395 Senior Member
    There are worse things than having to work.
    It's a source of great pride for me, that when my name is googled, one finds book titles and not mug shots. Daniel C. Chamberlain
  • VarmintmistVarmintmist Senior Member Posts: 7,398 Senior Member
    We have a lot of stationary engineers where I work. Get a cup of coffee in front of them and try to get one to move.

PA has one of the hardest teachers certs in the country. If you get a cert here, you can teach in almost every state (47 iirc). Its one of the reasons the state schools like IUP and Slippery Rock have a really large teacher curriculum.

Seriously, what do you work on? Compressors? Steam?
    It's boring, and your lack of creativity knows no bounds.
  • NNNN Senior Member Posts: 24,715 Senior Member
    Good luck, it will work out.
    Shut up-----KAREN; OK Cynthia
  • JerryBobCoJerryBobCo Senior Member Posts: 7,952 Senior Member
    Good luck.

I was retired for nearly two years and went back to work. What I make now is a lot more than what I was drawing from SS.

And what is a Stationary Engineer?
    Jerry

Gun control laws make about as much sense as taking ex-lax to cure a cough.
  • softwarejanitorsoftwarejanitor Member Posts: 241 Member