Home Main Category Personal Defense

Shoot with one hand

oldcopoldcop New MemberPosts: 16 New Member
Hi, This is my first post, so I don't know if it's been out there before, but I strongly recommend learning to shoot well with one hand. I was a cop for 32 years and more often than not, even though I was trained and re-trained to shoot with 2 hands, there were MANY times I found myself pointing my gun at a suspect with one hand. Sometimes you have a separate light, you're opening a door, turning on a light switch, or one of your hands is disabled or occupied with another task. Having the ability to shoot well with one hand can be a life saver. In real close quarters, your off hand can also be used to push your attacker off while you employ your weapon which you should keep close enough to your body so it can't be taken away from you.

Replies

• earlyearly Senior Member Posts: 4,950 Senior Member
    Sounds like great advice.
    My thoughts are generally clear. My typing, not so much.
  • ZeeZee Senior Member Posts: 23,551 Senior Member
    Yep.
    "To Hell with efficiency, it's performance we want!" - Elmer Keith
  • Diver43Diver43 Senior Member Posts: 10,666 Senior Member
    Welcome

As already said, most here will agree with you
    Logistics cannot win a war, but its absence or inadequacy can cause defeat. FM100-5
  • NCFUBARNCFUBAR Senior Member Posts: 4,324 Senior Member
    Training in any way other than your standard is always good just in case. I hurt my shoulder and it hurt to shoot strong side and since my kid wanted to shoot and I got board I started shooting a little weak side. After a little practice I am not as quick but I can hold my own weak side. I use to practice swapping hands on target along with other non-standard things (mag changes if a hand is hurt, slide manipulation by other means, etc) but I slacked off on them years back. One hand shooting be it weak or strong hand is probably something everyone should practice just in case.