So the Supreme Court decides in favor of the baker...

2»

Replies

• JermanatorJermanator Senior Member Posts: 14,171 Senior Member
    Well, this is my first post on this forum. Didn't think I'd use it on a political thread, but here goes...

I am a self employed electrician living in Colorado.  This story, as you can imagine, was a big deal here, and was all we heard about for a long time when it first took place.  Most people forgot about it till it came time for the SCOTUS decision, then it was all over the place again. 

My wife and I started our own business in January of 2017.  I have refused services to people on two occasions, and both were because of conflicts with my religious beliefs.  My father was a pastor for 30+ years till he retired 6 years ago.  I was raised in the church, and stand with my convictions, no matter what it may cost me.  One job I passed on would have paid a bit over $11,000 had I taken it.  It's pretty hard for a young business to stare $11,000 right in the eye, and walk away from it.  But I can still sleep at night.  We have been in business 18 months as of today, and we have still been able to make ends meet, and put food on the table. 

It's not always about the money.

As a fellow contractor, I turn down customers all the time. While it has absolutely nothing to do with my religious beliefs, I do not feel obligated to work for every person that calls my phone. I will go on record saying that I support gay rights 110%-- homosexuals should not be treated like second class citizens. Like it or not, they are Americans just like straight people and deserve to be treated with some dignity.