Home Main Category Clubhouse

Motor capacitor problem.

zorbazorba Senior MemberPosts: 23,844 Senior Member
edited November 2018 in Clubhouse #1
I know pretty little about motor capacitors, and I think I have a bad one. That's not really the problem, troubleshooting the circuit its in is...
The cap, a 15uf, measures about 2K ohms with no reactance as shown on an analog meter.
However, before I buy another one, I'd like a little more info on the motor circuit. This is the compressor motor of a dehumidifier. 3 wires, white (neutral), red, and blue. The red wire feeds power to the motor, and it is hot with regards to the neutral. The blue wire goes from the motor to the high side of the cap, then disappears into a wiring harness headed for the control board.
I'm not seeing any voltage on the blue wire at the top of the capacitor. Should I? I'm thinking I should, and there's a problem in the control board - but I'm seeking guidance as I've never worked on a motor circuit before.
-Zorba, "The Veiled Male"

"If you get it and didn't work for it, someone else worked for it and didn't get it..."

Replies

• zorbazorba Senior Member Posts: 23,844 Senior Member
    Ok - then I'll get the $5 part and see what happens. You know more about this than I do! Thanx!

"If you get it and didn't work for it, someone else worked for it and didn't get it..."
  • tennmiketennmike Senior Member Posts: 27,444 Senior Member
    What CPJ said. The type capacitor depends on whether it's a start capacitor or a run capacitor as to whether or not you see voltage across the capacitor.
      I refuse to answer that question on the grounds that I don't know the answer”
    ― Douglas Adams
    Yea, I did some Google-Fu - I'd think there'd be voltage there when the motor isn't running, but "whatever". $8 gamble for a $150 machine.

• pjames777pjames777 Senior Member Posts: 1,421 Senior Member