Home Main Category General Firearms

Mossberg ATR question

coolgunguycoolgunguy Senior MemberPosts: 6,611 Senior Member
Found a deal at Rural King for the Mossberg 100 ATR 20" fluted bbl, .243 Win, walnut stock for $219.

I like the caliber, I LOVE the price (I'm cheap), but I have ZERO experience with Mossberg centerfire rifles.  If nothing else, I could sell it and easily cover my expenses, so I'm not worried about losing my butt... but I wonder if any of you have tried one of these, and if so, what are your thoughts?
"Bipartisan" usually means that a bigger than normal deception is happening.
George Carlin

Replies

• FisheadgibFisheadgib Senior Member Posts: 5,797 Senior Member
    I'm not familiar with that model but I have two Mossberg MVP rifles and am happy with both of them. With the one in 5.56 I wanted a long range plinker that used box magazines and I didn't want to spend a huge amount of money and it fit the bill. I put a Timney trigger in it and was going to put aftermarket bottom metal on it but the plastic is holding up better than I thought it would so I'm keeping it for now. My other one is in .308 win and is one of my favorite hunting rifles and although it has a decent trigger, I plan to install a Timney trigger in it also. Those are the only two Mossberg centerfire rifles that I have any experience with and am happy with both of them. I don't think you could go wrong with that rifle for that price.
    snake284 wrote: »
    For my point of view, cpj is a lot like me
  • CHIRO1989CHIRO1989 Senior Member Posts: 12,813 Senior Member
    edited February 2019 #3
    I won the youth model ATR in .243 at a banquet, son # 2 hunts with it, it is sub MOA with 95 gr. Federal Fusions at 100 yds. with me or my son shooting it off a bench, I have never reloaded for it, if you want it, I would not hesitate.
    I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn away from their ways and live. Eze 33:11