Home Main Category Clubhouse

Feelin' old...

2»

Replies

• zorbazorba Senior Member Posts: 23,650 Senior Member
    Six-Gun said:
    I had a couple of those code books and used to copy the Basic code into my C64 much like you did with the Vic 20.  It took a helluva lot of dedication to get even one game working properly (troubleshooting syntax erros, etc.), but I had little more to do over weekends back in the early 80's, so...
    The best way is to get somebody to read it to you and you just type. Much faster and less errors.
    -Zorba, "The Veiled Male"

"If you get it and didn't work for it, someone else worked for it and didn't get it..."
  • GilaGila Posts: 1,828 Senior Member
    edited February 2019 #33
    zorba said:
    Yep - just like the above IMSAI. A lot of the early "Big Iron" was similar, although I have no personal experience with that. What computer(s) did you toggle in boot loaders for?
    DEC among others...  One of these was my first computer when I was in high school.

No good deed goes unpunished...
    PDP-8? 11?
    Never messed with VAXen or DEC, pretty much a micro computer guy - but I did write my first BASIC program on a Univac 90/70. I can still remember some of the commands for that system - like I'll ever need that again.

"If you get it and didn't work for it, someone else worked for it and didn't get it..."
    zorba said:
    PDP-8? 11?
    Never messed with VAXen or DEC, pretty much a micro computer guy - but I did write my first BASIC program on a Univac 90/70. I can still remember some of the commands for that system - like I'll ever need that again.
    Sorry, I can't say any more about that because it was military stuff.

Below is the first production program I ever wrote back in 1984, minus the data to make it function:

8080 code.

zorba said:
    8080 code.
    Yup, exactly right.
    Gila said:
    zorba said:
    8080 code.
    Yup, exactly right.
    You might get a chuckle out of this - its pretty geektastic...