Home Main Category General Firearms

Raw oil and walnut

Gene LGene L Senior MemberPosts: 11,623 Senior Member
Finished my M1A with raw linseed oil.  It probably won't impress anyone because I don't have a before picture, but I think it looks a lot better.  Oil-looking military finish rather than shiny hunting rifle finish.  First picture is of the rifle balanced precariously on my truck bed, not very informative, second is a close-up showing in some detail how a portion of it finished out.  The first was in sunlight, second was inside as it was raining.  I'm a pisspoor photographer, and it shows.  A benefit is the stock smells great!
Concealed carry is for protection, open carry is for attention.

Replies

• LinefinderLinefinder Moderator Posts: 6,748 Senior Member
    I'm liking it. The 2nd pic looks a lot like the finish on my 30BR. Not flashy....IMO, quietly understated.

Mike
    "Walking away seems to be a lost art form."
    N454casull
  • JayhawkerJayhawker Moderator Posts: 16,752 Senior Member
    Nice job Gene...I prefer those matte oil finished working rifles...Well Done!
    Sharps Model 1874 - "The rifle that made the west safe for Winchester"
  • earlyagainearlyagain Posts: 6,721 Senior Member
    Looks nice!

Were they carried with a bayonet?
  • Gene LGene L Senior Member Posts: 11,623 Senior Member
    edited June 10 #5
    Bayonets make it an "assault weapon."  No, mine doesn't have a bayonet lug, although I think it would be a simple thing to put one on...change the flash hider.  Mine is already heavy enough w/out a useless bit of iron.  About 10 pounds +, unloaded, which is more than specs. 

A beefy rifle rifle. Glad I don't have to lug it.  The oil made it a bit darker and as mentioned in the original thread, it does have a slight reddish tint to it, not visible in the artificial light of my LR.
    Concealed carry is for protection, open carry is for attention.
  • sakodudesakodude Senior Member Posts: 3,822 Senior Member