Home Main Category General Firearms

Bad Factory Ammo

Uncle FesterUncle Fester Senior MemberPosts: 1,350 Senior Member
Having decided that getting stuck without ammo in another shortage, I decided to try my hand at reloading with 300 BO  as my first project.   With my 300 BO pistol finally complete, I took it to the range To test it for function, I planned to test it with a box of factory ammo before moving on to my reloads.  If worked flawlessly over 110 rounds.

After I fired the first mag of factory ammo, I discovered that the factory brass looked to have been trimmed by a drunk with a Dremel tool.

For those people who have experience as AR shooters, could you explain the dent on the neck of this case (handmade by me)?  I think my rounds are hitting something as they are ejecting.  Brass deflector?

Can I reload them?

Replies

• earlyagainearlyagain Posts: 6,748 Senior Member
    I don't know what they're hitting as I have no AR experience. You can reload them. The question will become how many times.
  • JustsomedudeJustsomedude Posts: 441 Member
    Pretty typical of an AR that has good momentum of the BCG and slings the brass against the deflector. I dont reload but I imagine it'll be fine.
  • JayhawkerJayhawker Moderator Posts: 16,778 Senior Member
    Yep....they are bouncing off you deflector....they will be fine assuming you full length resize...the dent should disappear in the process
    Sharps Model 1874 - "The rifle that made the west safe for Winchester"
  • mitdr774mitdr774 Member Posts: 1,426 Senior Member
    For quite some time Winchester ammunition has been a huge QC disappointment.  Even with the .350 Legend I was getting pierced primers and fired case lengths that varied in length by about 0.020".
  • bullsi1911bullsi1911 Moderator Posts: 11,026 Senior Member
    Not the first bad report I have heard on the Winchester “USA” line.  
    To make something simple is a thousand times more difficult than to make something complex.