Home Main Category Clubhouse

Need some help fella's: Questions about machining and milling for a complete noob.

13»

Replies

• JustsomedudeJustsomedude Posts: 607 Senior Member
    Tennmike, a good trick i learned from my old man is to use a boring head in the tailstock indicated flat and a ball bearing as the center. That way you can offset the boring head and not the tailstock. I've gotten quite efficient with turning tapers between centers but I've always hated re-centering my tailstock.
  • JaphyJaphy Posts: 68 Member
    I second the suggestion of taking a couple classes at a community college or tech school.  I took 2 machine shop classes years ago I am certain I learned 100X more than my expectations.

• LinefinderLinefinder Moderator Posts: 7,251 Senior Member
    I  went down the rabbit hole this morning watching machining videos on YouTube.for about 4 hours. I realized I don't know a thing about this trade. Take anything I opine with a grain of salt. I've learned I'm either doing it wrong, didn't understand the basics, or there's a better way to do it.

Seriously. This stuff will humble you. One guy was cutting something with a tolerance of .0003" that we couldn't even lift to the lathe......

Mike
    "Walking away seems to be a lost art form."
    N454casull
  • tennmiketennmike Senior Member Posts: 27,453 Senior Member
    Wish I could find the video again about how16"50 gun barrels were made. Really interesting in that the barrel is an outer shell with an inner rifled liner. And after test firing the inner liner stretched out the muzzle end and had to have that 'extruded' liner machined off.
    Here's a series of videos y'all might like on making naval guns. Might surprise you at the tolerances they held back then. And those machine tools!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q3VFce7BDAg
      I refuse to answer that question on the grounds that I don't know the answer”
    ― Douglas Adams
    And one for the Army cannon cockers.  :)