Home Main Category General Firearms

What was you "Blind Squirrel shot?

FreezerFreezer Senior MemberPosts: 1,737 Senior Member
edited July 8 in General Firearms #1
Orchardman got me thinking...Even the blind squirrel finds a nut. What's your blind squirrel shot?

Mine came about  10 years ago when I was visiting my brother in PA. I had repaired some guns for him and couldn't bring my favorite deer rifle a Savage 99f 308 with a 2x7 Leupold and a good trigger job. As luck would have it his FIL had a Savage 99 in 300 Savage with a 4x Galaxy over see through rings, a 9 lb trigger and a box of 40 year old 180 gr Remington Core Locs with two rounds missing. 

It was near the end of the day and nobody had shot a buck, this never happened in 25 years on this property. I was was in a ground stand in an open field and at the other end of the field at the drop off a heard of deer came out. I studied the heard with my binoculars and noticed a decent buck on the drop of the hill. I estimated the distance to be 300 yards.  Because he was standing on the down slope I couldn't see his legs and half of his chest. I figured My best chance was a neck/head shot and figured the bullet drop would be about 28 inches. If I missed at that distance I might get a second shot. I set for the shot and squeezed the trigger three time before the trigger broke. When my eyes cleared the deer wasn't there. I stepped of the distance 287 yards. He fell where he stood on the drop of the hill.

The bullet entered slightly below and to the rear of his eye and didn't exit! A non typical basket 11 point.