Home Main Category General Firearms

Im still learning about my pistol.

earlyagainearlyagain Posts: 6,555 Senior Member

Got this NIB in 91' or 92' as best I can remember. Been watching 1911 videos online. Didn't know I  could pull the slide rearward from the locked back position to release it. This pistol came perfectly set up from the factory near as I can tell. And I've some how managed not to harm it a bit. The bushing is snug. The slide stop pin shows two perfect marks from supporting the rear of the barrel. My friend and I fit the new trigger like the amateur hacks we are. It actually fits ok, but the gun don't care. It runs and runs and runs. The only flaw I can find on it is microscopic play in the plunger tube. Ive got extra recoil and fp springs. Im going to get a shock buffer for the guide rod eventually. Maybe in another 20 or 30 years I'll know everything about it.

Replies

• BigslugBigslug Senior Member Posts: 8,075 Senior Member
    Pretty!

Pass on the shock buffer - just run the next-step-up-from-GI 18.5# recoil spring andGI-standard 23# main spring.  Not so much an issue on the full size Government Models, but the shock buffs do limit your slide travel by their 1/8" or so thickness.  They can take an Officer's Model right to the point of the slide running out of rearward movement RIGHT after the breech face clears the back of the mag well.  Reduces the momentum from the  "running start" you want the slide to have before it encounters resistance from the round stack and feed ramp.  Can't help your ejection either.
    WWJMBD?

"Nothing is safe from stupid." - Zee
  • JayhawkerJayhawker Moderator Posts: 16,583 Senior Member
    I concur with Bigslug...it ain't broke...nothing to "fix"...
    Sharps Model 1874 - "The rifle that made the west safe for Winchester"
  • earlyagainearlyagain Posts: 6,555 Senior Member
    Sounds like good advice!